top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMia S

Who Runs The World? Girls!

Today's Holidays: International Women's Day, Middle Name Pride Day, Proof Reading Day, Peanut Cluster Day

Website of the Day: https://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/chocolate-peanut-clusters/

Fact of the Day: Matt Damon's middle name is Paige.


 

As I am taking a seminar course right now called “The Female Literary Tradition”, I spend a lot of time thinking about the great works of fiction by female authors: Jane Austen, Virginia, Woolf, Willa Cather, and Edith Wharton.  We’ve discussed the challenges women writers faced, the way women are represented in literature, and the ideas expressed in these novels related to femininity and gender roles. Though the focus is on the progressive presence of women in literature, I have found that the ideas we discuss extend beyond that of the novel- in a place where fiction becomes real, where it so brilliantly becomes intertwined with the history of human nature.  


Virginia Woolf, in A Room One’s Own, points out the disadvantages women had in the literary world, as they did not have money nor a room of their own to write.  While Woolf clearly notes the challenges women faced, she also, perhaps more importantly, comments on how these perceived disadvantages were, in some way, advantages.  As a result of the “common room”, a term coined for a room shared by many, public and not private, women observed human nature intimately. They studied human interaction, movement, and thought closely, and as a result, their writing was shaped by the effect of the “common room”.  Woolf’s Mrs. Dalloway and To The Lighthouse demonstrate a deep knowledge of human behavior and character as she reveals the minds of characters: their hopes, fears, jealousies, and passions.  This is not to say that male writers do not create depth of character in fiction, but women display a very different idea of human nature through their characters- one more true to reality.  


Women have had a distinctly different history from men.  And while we faced inequality and stereotype, there is also much to be found in this history that reflects a more positive idea of what it had meant and what it currently means to be a woman; our history certainly has disadvantages, but as Woolf asserts, there are also underlying advantages.  We had to fight for the right to vote, finally granted in 1920 as the 19th Amendment. A definite inequality in the governmental system, the fight for the right to vote has also made us stronger, among other feminist movements. Men have always held this right, but women had to fight, and so we inherently have developed strength and perseverance, but also an appreciation.  We value life more having not always had these rights. Our understanding of the world is, therefore, characteristically different, and we should be proud of this difference. We are proud of this difference. We are proud of our history, full of disadvantage and advantage, struggle and success, the common room and literary tradition.


 

I am surrounded by inspiring women in my life: my mom, nanny (grandma), aunts, friends, professors, coaches, and teammates.  My mom, especially, has always been my most prominent female role model. She had me when she was twenty-two, only three years older than I am right now, and yet somehow she managed to raise three children, send us to private school, and now send me to Princeton.  She is incredibly strong, beautiful, intelligent, kind, compassionate, and supportive in every way, and I know that I would not be here, at this wonderful place in my life right now, without her. My mom is such an inspiration, and I think that sometimes she doesn’t realize just how great she is, so mom, thank you for simply being your fantastic, admirable self.  I love you! My nanny, too, has been an integral part of my life since I was young. She, along with my mom, was one of the first female role models I had to look up to, and I am continually inspired by her kindness, generosity, and compassion. Nanny, I am looking forward to our brunch this weekend!


And finally, I’d like to take the time to mention my friends, for they have both been an inspiration and have had such an impact on my life and my own sense of self.  Claire Ernst, you continue to inspire me every day. From the moment we met on the playground in third grade, I knew we would be best friends, and your friendship has meant so much to me all these years.  Your music and talent is one of a kind, and it has motivated me to keep writing. Aspen Rodas, everything about who you are and what you have accomplished and overcome inspires me. I am grateful everyday for you, and I know that you will achieve such amazing things in life, because of your motivation, perseverance, and determination.  Ashley Morales, we haven’t known each other for a long time, but you are simply incredible, and it only took talking to you for a few minutes at orientation to come to this conclusion. Your passion and positivity inspire me, your ambition and compassion are admirable, and your friendship is so valuable. Thank you for being there for me always, whether it’s to laugh or cry, and I cannot wait to watch you kill it in the Mas Flow show tonight!  


Ellie Timko, I thought Peddie reached its limits for all that it would mean to me by senior year, but that was before I met you. You added such an element of excitement, joy, and laughter to my life, while also becoming someone I could always confide in. Your humbleness, energy, and character inspire me, and I was so happy that we got to meet up the other day to catch up. Finally, Sam Scott, I consider you to be my very first best friend at Peddie, and I am forever thankful that you sat next to me on the bus at cross country preseason.  You are one of the most considerate and compassionate people I know, and you always inspire me to think more about others and extend the same compassion that you embody. There are so many more inspiring friends in my life, and so, to all of my friends, I love you, I appreciate you, and continue being amazing women!


Today, on International Women’s Day, I celebrate both the history of women and the women in my life.  Take the time today to tell the women in your life how much you value them. Let’s celebrate women today and everyday, because, let’s be honest, we’re pretty great.


Happy International Women’s Day! How did you celebrate? DM a picture to the instagram account! #InternationalWomensDay #BeHappy #Celebrate #Empowerment #SelfLove        

52 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page